Categories: Sports

IPL-2022 kicks off today: The first match between Chennai and Kolkata, both teams will take the field with a new captain; Find out why the opening ceremony was canceled

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will play their first match of the contest this year against Kolkata Knight Riders. Let me tell you that the title match of 2021 was played between these two teams which were won by Captain Cool’s team CSK. Since the foreign players in both teams cannot play some of the opening matches, it will be up to the captain to make the team combination. On the other hand, the arch of both the teams will be in the hands of the new captain. However, the opening ceremony has not been held this season either. So let’s take a look at the probable playing-11 and pitch report of both the teams including the reasons behind this…

Match details:

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Match Time: 7.30 PM
Live Streaming – Live updates on Star Sports Network and Disney Plus Hotstar
Injury Update: Deepak Chahar will miss this match due to an injury

Pitch Report:

Mumbai’s Wankhede pitch helps fast bowlers. In the first few overs, the grass top wicket can put the batsman in trouble. However, the match between the two teams in the finisher game after that can be exciting. The captain who wins the toss in this pitch may also choose to bowl first.

Both teams start with a new captain

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has relinquished the captaincy before the start of the IPL. Now the bow of Chennai has been handed over to World No. 1 all-rounder Jadeja. On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer has got the bow of the Kolkata Knight Riders. Although Shreyas has previously captained the Delhi Capitals, the match will be important for both Kolkata and Chennai looking to the future.

Reason for cancellation of opening ceremonies

About a month and a half before the 12th season of the IPL, on 14 February 2019, a terrorist attack took place in Pulwama, Jammu, and Kashmir, in which a total of 40 Indians were killed. At the same time, the opening ceremony of the IPL in honor of these martyrs was canceled. The BCCI had subsequently banned the use of an excessive amount of money in the ceremony. Let me tell you that the last opening ceremony of IPL was held in the year 2019.

At the same time, due to the Corona epidemic in 2020 and 2021, the opening ceremony was not planned. At the same time, now this season, there has been speculation that a curtain razor event (update of IPL 2022 opening ceremonies) will be held, but the BCCI has refused to do so.

BCCI completely blocked the opening ceremony

Let me tell you that regarding the opening ceremony of IPL in the year 2019, BCCI told the IPL Governing Council that this is a waste of money. At the same time, a BCCI official said that the fans were not interested in the opening ceremony. For this, the board has to pay a hefty amount to the stars who perform in it. In such a scenario, the opener planned to cancel the board completely as the budget deteriorated due to the ceremony.

The possible playing of both teams-11

Rituraj will get a new opening partner

Now that Faf Duplessis has been selected in RCB, Devon Conway with Rituraj Gaekwad can be in the field for the opening. In that, Chennai will be hoping for a great performance from the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, and Shivam Dubey. While in the absence of Deepak Chahar in the bowling department, Adam Milne, Rajvardhan Hungergecker can also handle CSK’s front-line bowling attack.

CSK: Rituraj Gaekwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Shivam Dubey, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja (capt), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Rajvardhan Hungargekar, Chris Jordan, Mahish Thikshana

Determining the entry of Rahane and Venkatesh

Ajinkya Rahane, who has been in poor form for some time, could be dropped by the Kolkata team for the opening match. Venkatesh Iyer can be seen with him. Shreyas Iyer is likely to bat at number three. Teva can handle Sam Billings, Andre Russell, and Sunil Narine in the middle and lower-middle order. On the other hand, Shivam Mavi, Umesh Yadav, and Varun Chakraborty can take charge of the bowling department.

KKR: Ajinkya Rahane, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (capt), Nitish Rana, Sam Billings, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakraborty